Relying On Myself

Sometimes things don’t meet up to your expectations and you need to learn to accept it and move on as soon as possible. Like this cup of coffee I bought from Starbucks this morning. *glare*

Sadly, this can also happen with people and plans too.

I mentioned in my last post that I had gotten free hosting from a facebook friend and would have it after the weekend. The past few days I have been waiting, SO excited to get some hosting up and running so that I can finally go all out on this website. He told me to write him an email with certain details so I did straight away and eagerly awaited the “Yep! All done!” e-mail. Saturday came. No e-mail. I sent a polite reminder e-mail. Sunday came. No email. It is now Monday night and sure enough, no email.

I am disappointed by this. But, I have learnt lately that most of the time, things don’t go according to plan. Even more so when you’re relying on others.

There’s that well known saying “If you want it done right, you have to do it yourself.” So that’s exactly what I’m going to do. I’m going to save my money, research my best options, and choose a place to host my website.

I know this would seem exceedingly simple to some people. But for those like me who have never had anything to do with hosting, its a little intimidating. But hey, if thousands of others can do it, then damnit I can do it too.

I’ve realised today that I need to believe in myself more. Whenever I have a problem, the first thing I think is “Ok who can I run to, to fix this for me?” That needs to stop. I know its still ok to ask for help now and then, but I need to see if I can’t fix things for myself first. I’m thinking 9 times out of 10, I’ll be able to solve my own problems. Which, you know, is a pretty important thing to do when you’re out travelling on your own.

Leave a Reply

